John McLaughlin Extrapolation  

If there are any lost jazz souls doubting John McLaughlin's jazz heritage - they've never heard Extrapolation. Extrapolation was McLaughlin's first album release as a leader and sounds as fresh today as it did way back in 1969.

Extrapolation features the great John Surman on sax, Tony Oxley on drums and last minute replacement for Dave Holland who had just left for America for the sudden opportunity to play with Miles, Brian Odges on bass. This quartet blazes through McLaughlin's JAZZ-blues-rock compositions and forms a hodge-podge of restless rhythms and irresistable hooks. Yet despite its freeness, not meant in a strict jazz sense, Extrapolation is also quite cogent and thematic as most tunes effortlessly run into each other. As always with McLaughlin, all of the players are allowed to excel and this makes for a very pleasing mix.

It would take the world 20 years to discover Extrapolation - but there is no doubt these European musicians made a very important record. Extrapolation is a must CD for any McLaughlin fan.

Walter Kolosky

Walter Kolosky is a jazz fan and founder of who lives in Braintree, MA, USA


1. Extrapolation - (3:52)
2. It's Funny - (4:23)
3. Argen's Bag - (4:10)
4. Pete the Poet - (4:48)
5. This Is for Us to Share - (3:33)
6. Spectrum - (2:45) (A.Hall)
7. Binky's Beam - (7:05)
8. Really You Know - (4:25)
9. Two for Two - (3:43)
10. Peace Piece - (1:50)

John McLaughlin - electric & acoustic guitars
John Surman - baritone & soprano saxes
Brian Odges - bass
Tony Oxley - drums


All titles composed by John McLaughlin.
Recorded at Advision Studios, London, January 16, 1969.
Produced by Giorgio Gomelsky.

  Verve 31451 41598 (p) 1969