Chick Corea
Music Forever & Beyond

CD IV: 5. Beautiful Love

Chick Corea - piano
John McLaughlin - acoustic guitar

Recorded at Montreux, Switzerland, July 15, 1981.

All the tracks:

      01 Matrix 
      02 Chick's Tune 
      03 Litha 
      04 Windows 
      05 Starp 
      06 Spain 
      07 No Mystery 

      01 Hymn of the 7th Galaxy 
      02 Captain Senor Mouse 
      03 Nite Sprite 
      04 Leprechaun's Dream, Part 1 
      05 Leprechaun's Dream, Part 2 
      06 Duel of the Jester & the Tyrant (parts 1&2) 
      07 Armando's Rhumba 
      08 Humpty Dumpty 
      09 Sicily 
      10 Quartet No.2, Part 1 
      11 Central Park 

      01 Rumble 
      02 Cool Weasel Boogie 
      03 Got a Match 
      04 Light Years 
      05 Eternal Child 
      06 Trance Dance 
      07 Spain 
      08 Make a Wish, part 1 
      09 Make a Wish, part 2 
      10 99 Flavors 
      11 Blue Miles 
      12 Ished 

      01 I Don't See Me in Your Eyes Anymore 
      02 Lush Life 
      03 Soft and Gentle 
      04 Liza (All the Clouds'll Roll Away) 
      05 Beautiful Love 
      06 The Yellow Nimbus 
      07 Crystal Silence 
      08 O Solo Mio on the Lone Prairie 
      09 Even from Me 
      10 I Fall in Love So Easily 
      11 'Round Midnight 

      01 That Old Feeling 
      02 Trinkle Tinkle 
      03 Monk's Mood 
      04 Stella by Starlight 
      05 Summer Night 
      06 Sraight no Chaser 
      07 Story

This very attractive five-CD set does an excellent job of summing up the rather productive career of pianist-keyboardist Chick Corea. The first two discs have highlights from the 1964-82 period including a few sideman appearances, a previously unissued version of "Windows" played with Stan Getz, the original version of "Spain," four pieces from the Return to Forever days and numbers from his freelance projects of the late '70s (highlighted by the exciting "Central Park"). The third disc concentrates on Corea's GRP projects (1986-94), particularly his Elektric and Akoustic Bands (two selections were previously unissued) while the fourth CD is quite a grab-bag that includes collaborations with Herbie Hancock (a version of "Liza" that progresses from stride to free), Gayle Moran, John McLaughlin, Paco DeLucia, Gary Burton, Bobby McFerrin and Miles Davis (a new duet version of "I Fall in Love So Easily" from 1969). In addition Corea is heard as an eight-year old in 1949 on a privately recorded 78 playing a short piano solo and on a version of "'Round Midnight" with strings that was recorded for this 1996 box. In fact the fifth disc consists exclusively of new recordings of standards (plus one original) by Corea in an acoustic quartet with tenor saxophonist Bob Berg (who has rarely sounded more exciting). This well-conceived set is highly recommended even to Chick Corea fans who might have some of his earlier records. A gem. ~Scott Yanow, All-Music Guide

1996 5-CD GRP Records GRD-5 9819